21042 Results
21042 Results
Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-
Book
2009
89 available of 93 items

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

Circe —Miller, Madeline, author.
Large Print
2018
2 available of 7 items

In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child -- not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of morta...

Marilla of Green Gables —McCoy, Sarah, 1980- author.
Large Print
2019
3 available of 9 items

"A bold, heartfelt tale of life at Green Gables ... before Anne. Plucky and ambitious, Marilla Cuthbert is thirteen years old when her world is turned upside down, leaving her to bear the responsibilities of a farm wife...

Dissolution —Sansom, C. J.
Book
2003
4 available of 9 items

A literary mystery, set in 1537 when Henry VIII was launching his attacks on England's monasteries. An agent of Thomas Cromwell, sent to "assess" the monastery at Scarnsea, has been murdered. Dr.Matthew Shardlake is sent...

The winter sea —Kearsley, Susanna.
Book
2008
8 available of 11 items

When novelist Carrie McClelland decides to set her new novel in Slains Castle in Scotland and uses her ancestor, Sophia Paterson, as one of the characters, the novel begins to take on a life of its own and Carrie soon re...

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
0 available of 5 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.
Book
2005
39 available of 41 items

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-
Book
2006
48 available of 51 items

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

The Scotsman who swept me away —Howell, Hannah, author.
Book
2019
16 available of 21 items

The Irish heiress —O'Riley, Kaitlin, author.
Book
2019
22 available of 26 items

"Quiet and intuitive, Lady Mara Reeves has always felt more at home amid the green hills of her native Ireland than in London's stifling ballrooms. Determined to remain single, she's adept at gently rebuffing any suitor ...

Deceived by desire —Force, Marie, author.
Book
2019
19 available of 26 items

Murder at Kensington Palace —Penrose, Andrea, author.
Book
2019
1 available of 5 items

Make me love you —Lindsey, Johanna, author.
Book
2016
61 available of 64 items

"#1 New York Times bestselling author Johanna Lindsey delivers a sparkling, passionate tale of an earl's daughter who must convince a mysterious viscount to marry her and end his vendetta against her brother. One duel co...

Scandalous —Spencer, Minerva, author.
Book
2019
19 available of 22 items

Lampedusa : a novel —Price, Steven, 1976- author.
Book
2019
11 available of 35 items

In sun-drenched Sicily, among the decadent Italian aristocracy of the late 1950s, Giuseppe Tomasi, the last prince of Lampedusa, struggles to complete a novel that will be his lasting legacy. With a firm devotion to the ...

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.
Book
2017
1 available of 10 items

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

A lady in disguise —Sands, Lynsay, author.
Book
2019
21 available of 23 items

"Lady Maggie Wentworth must support herself as an investigative reporter. Writing under another name, she's been exposing the notorious scandals of the ton--this time it's the 'working girls' of London. While interviewin...

The woman in the white kimono —Johns, Ana, author.
Book
2019
9 available of 15 items

A debut novel inspired by the author's true family story, 'The Woman in the White Kimono' is a captivating historical novel that tells the braided stories of a young woman in 1950s Japan, forced to choose between her hea...

In Farleigh Field : a novel —Bowen, Rhys, author.
Book
2017
3 available of 6 items

World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five daughters, when a soldier with a failed parachute falls to his death on the estate. After his uniform and possessions raise suspicio...

My highland rebel —Forester, Amanda, author.
Book
2017
11 available of 14 items

A conquering hero: Cormac Maclean would rather read than rampage, but his fearsome warlord father demands that he prove himself in war. Cormac chooses what he thinks is an easy target, only to encounter a fiery Highland ...

1 2 3 ...