20991 Results
20991 Results
Rainwater —Brown, Sandra, 1948-
Book
2009
81 available of 89 items

"The year is 1934. With the country in the stranglehold of drought and economic depression, Ella Barron runs her Texas boardinghouse with an efficiency that ensures her life will be kept in balance. Between chores of coo...

No safe harbour : the Halifax explosion diary of Charlotte Blackburn —Lawson, Julie, 1947-
Book
2006
43 available of 49 items

Twelve year old Charlotte Blackburn receives a diary from her brother serving overseas in France during World War One and uses it to record the events leading up to and following the Halifax Explosion of December 6, 1917...

A daring venture —Camden, Elizabeth, 1948- author.
Large Print
2018
5 available of 9 items

In early 1900s New York, biochemist Doctor Rosalind Werner works to champion a water delivery technology that will fight water-borne illnesses. The fight brings her into contact, and conflict, with newly appointed Commis...

The Pull of the Stars. —Donoghue, Emma.
Book
2020
0 available of 20 items

Dublin, 1918: three days in a maternity ward at the height of the Great Flu. A small world of work, risk, death and unlooked-for love, by the bestselling author of The Wonder and ROOM. In an Ireland doubly ravaged by war...

An echo in the darkness —Rivers, Francine, 1947-
Large Print
2015
4 available of 6 items

A year has passed and Hadassah has donned veils to conceal her identity and the scars that now mark her body. Believed dead, she works helping a doctor and becomes skilled at healing through faith. When Julia falls ill, ...

We were the lucky ones —Hunter, Georgia, 1978- author.
Large Print
2017
0 available of 5 items

An extraordinary, propulsive novel based on the true story of a family of Polish Jews who scatter at the start of the Second World War, determined to survive, and to reunite.

Rebellious heart —Hedlund, Jody.
Book
2013
7 available of 11 items

"When Susanna's heart for the poor and Ben's disillusionment with British rule cross paths in 1763 Massachusetts, the two find themselves bound in a dangerous fight for justice"

The death of my country : the plains of Abraham diary of Geneviève Aubuchon —Trottier, Maxine.
Book
2005
37 available of 41 items

In May 1759, Abenaki Indian Geneviève Aubuchon must choose between remaining with her friends in Québec or retreating to the Abenaki mission at St. Francis so that she may be safe. Includes historical note.

The Henna Artist —Joshi, Alka.
Large Print
2020
0 available of 2 items

Alka Joshi's 'The Henna Artist' is a lushly-rendered, emotional book set in post-Raj 1950s Jaipur about a young woman struggling to shape her own destiny in a world pivoting between the traditional and the modern. A Dewe...

Death of a stranger —Perry, Anne.
Book
2002
24 available of 26 items

Victorian-era investigator William Monk, barely recovered from amnesia, is hired by a mysterious woman to look into the financial dealings of her fiance. Meanwhile, the death of a railway magnate in a sleazy brothel has ...

The night diary —Hiranandani, Veera, author.
Book
2018
6 available of 9 items

Shy twelve-year-old Nisha, forced to flee her home with her Hindu family during the 1947 partition of India, tries to find her voice and make sense of the world falling apart around her by writing to her deceased Muslim ...

The bachelor —Jeffries, Sabrina, author.
Book
2020
19 available of 29 items

The other side of silence —Kerr, Philip, author.
Book
2016
7 available of 11 items

"Being a Berlin cop in 1942 was a little like putting down mousetraps in a cage full of tigers. The war is over. Bernie Gunther, our sardonic former Berlin homicide detective and unwilling SS officer, is now living on th...

The Irish heiress —O'Riley, Kaitlin, author.
Book
2019
24 available of 25 items

"Quiet and intuitive, Lady Mara Reeves has always felt more at home amid the green hills of her native Ireland than in London's stifling ballrooms. Determined to remain single, she's adept at gently rebuffing any suitor ...

The most eligible lord in London —Quinn, Ella, author.
Book
2020
5 available of 21 items

"Handsome, rakish, incorrigibly flirtatious--Fredrick, Lord Littleton, is notorious. Lady Adeline Wivenly is resolved to keep him at arm's length during her first Season--until she overhears another woman's plot to trick...

The girls with no names —Burdick, Serena, author.
Book
2020
1 available of 26 items

'The Home for Unwanted Girls' meets 'The Dollhouse' in this historical novel of secrets, deception, and sisterhood, as one sister goes missing and her younger sister hatches an audacious plan to be admitted to the House ...

The weight of ink —Kadish, Rachel, author.
Book
2017
4 available of 12 items

"An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of In...

The invention of wings —Kidd, Sue Monk.
Book
2014
45 available of 57 items

"The story follows Hetty "Handful" Grimke, a Charleston slave, and Sarah, the daughter of the wealthy Grimke family. The novel begins on Sarah's eleventh birthday, when she is given ownership over Handful, who is to be h...

Lampedusa : a novel —Price, Steven, 1976- author.
Book
2019
25 available of 38 items

In sun-drenched Sicily, among the decadent Italian aristocracy of the late 1950s, Giuseppe Tomasi, the last prince of Lampedusa, struggles to complete a novel that will be his lasting legacy. With a firm devotion to the ...

The woman in the white kimono —Johns, Ana, author.
Book
2019
6 available of 15 items

A debut novel inspired by the author's true family story, 'The Woman in the White Kimono' is a captivating historical novel that tells the braided stories of a young woman in 1950s Japan, forced to choose between her hea...

1 2 3 ...