746 Results
Literary Form
746 Results
The secret lives of church ladies —Philyaw, Deesha, author.

"Explores the raw and tender places where Black women and girls dare to follow their desires and pursue a momentary reprieve from being good. The nine stories in this collection feature four generations of characters gra...

The inheritance —Alers, Rochelle, author.

"Corporate attorney Hannah DuPont-Lowell always pictured herself returning to New Orleans to retire-just not yet. But after her Manhattan company abruptly lays off its staff, there's no better place to figure out a next ...

The sound and the fury —Faulkner, William, 1897-1962.

By turns lyrical and dramatic, hilarious and heartbreaking, The Sound and the Fury is the tragic story of beautiful Caddy Compson and the dissolution of her family.

Hidden figures

As the United States raced against Russia to put a man in space, NASA found untapped talent in a group of African-American female mathematicians that served as the brains behind one of the greatest operations in U.S. his...

The vanishing half —Bennett, Brit, author.

"The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adu...

Every body looking —Iloh, Candice, author.

When Ada leaves home for her freshman year at a Historically Black College, it's the first time she's ever been so far from her family-and the first time that she's been able to make her own choices and to seek her place...

The vanishing half —Bennett, Brit, author.
Large Print
2020
Availability: 3 of 19

"The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adu...

Cane River —Tademy, Lalita, author.

Follows four generations of African American women from slavery to the early twentieth century as they struggle for economic security and the future of their families along the Cane River in rural Louisiana.

The vanishing half —Bennett, Brit, author.
Book On CD
2020
Availability: 1 of 6

"The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adu...

Pastor needs a boo —Bowen, Michele Andrea.

"It was a regular New Jerusalem Gospel United Church work day for Reverend Denzelle Flowers when Veronica Washington, Keisha Jackson, and Marsha Metcalf showed up after losing their jobs on the same day, same morning, an...

Josephine Baker's last dance —Jones, Sherry, 1961- author.

"From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinatin...

Murder in G major : a Gethsemane Brown mystery —Gordon, Alexia, author.

"With few other options, African-American classical musician Gethsemane Brown accepts a less-than-ideal position turning a group of rowdy schoolboys into an award-winning orchestra. Stranded without luggage or money in t...

Claudine

Claudine, a struggling mother working to raise enough for her six children by working as a maid in a wealthy home, meets Roop, a charming man who holds back his affections because of his own struggles.

Tiny imperfections —Frank, Alli, author.

"At thirty-nine, Josie Bordelon's modeling career as the 'it' black beauty of the '90s is far behind her. Now director of admissions at San Francisco's most sought after private school, she's chic, single, and determined...

Until there was you —Ray, Francis.

"All he was looking for was some peace and quiet. Instead, what ex-FBI agent Lucas Grayson finds in the secluded cabin in the woods is a gorgeous, smoky-eyed woman...who just happens to be pointing a gun in his direction...

Cherry Lane : a Cavanaugh island novel —Alers, Rochelle.

When she discovers that she is pregnant, attorney Devon Gilmore leaves her fast-paced life behind to settle down on Cavanaugh Island, where sparks fly between her and David Sullivan, who may not be ready for an instant f...

This tender melody —Alexander, Kianna, author.

The only thing standing between Eve Franklin and her dream is over six feet of pure, arrogant alpha male. Eve has spent years preparing to take the reins of her family's software business. Now that her father is stepping...

It's not all downhill from here a novel —McMillan, Terry, author, narrator.
Book On CD
2020
Availability: 1 of 4

"After a sudden change of plans, a remarkable woman and her loyal group of friends try to figure out what she's going to do with the rest of her life--from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How Stella Got Her G...

1 2 3 ...